Dorothy Gate is alive, well…

…and living in the proximity of Aira Force.  I've seen the "Yat stoops" around the lakes, but seldom, if ever, in use.  While searching to ensure those in ignorance could find out if they wanted; I discovered 
1. ONE photographic example of a gate like this in over 200 photos.
2. There exists a geocache by name of "Yat Stoop" so we can presume it's hidden in/on/under/near a Yat stoop.
 
Thursday again fell on a Wednesday this week, so Jerra and I set off for a wander.  That's ALL we did, set off.  I was unfortunate enough to inherit Dad's hands; while personally relatively hardy in low temperatures, finding 19˚C comfortable and 22˚C a bit warm for common sense and comfort, even after turning nesh in my old age - BUT - my hands suffer to the extent that even in my comfort zone I need a fingerless glove on my "mousing hand" at the computer; well that coupled with an old injury from a badly swollen/abscessed hand in my late teens/early 20s.  Ergo my wee pinkies suffered from the cool with a Trekking pole in each hand, causing a premature end to proceedings Mitts next time.

There's Yats and there's gates.  The main shot is, probably, best filed under "Yat".  The extra is definitely a Gate, and a clever one too.  Not only does it swing freely both ways but it also self-closes and latches so efficiently that it would be impossible to leave open by accident.  I'm pleased they told us about the words; they must be on the far side, there wasn't a lot other than her name & a date on this side.
* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *
I'll have that Spill Chucker fluent in Cumbrian yet; today it learnt Yay, Yats and nesh

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.