Bedding down for winter.

It's had its ups and downs. 
("New readers start here".)
Alice pampered me in letting me buy it.  Knowing no better, and being assured it was hardy down to -12˚C I planted it at the side of the pond.  I've learnt a LOT since we bought it.  It was too well supplied with fertiliser, needing an impoverished soil; having evolved for such areas.  In the following years I almost slew it before rescuing it and re-potting in soil designed for the job.  It's almost back to original size. 
Another thing I've learnt:-
"Don't panic Mr. Mainwaring."  they go to sleep for the winter.
* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *
It seems we have an American Spill Chucker.  I wasn't at all surprised at having to teach it Cumbrian Dialect; Words like "Cumbria", "Yan" and "Nesh" but it also needs taught that there is NO "Z" in fertilise and there IS a "U" in "Color".

Just to maintain the chain.
>>>---------->January "next" year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.