JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

Witches broom.

I was so late up this morning. Can't wait for it to be the shortest day when I will start coming out of this hibernation.  It wasn't that cold this morning but has got colder as the day has gone on.  Thankfully not quite so lazy.  My climbing rose got tied in and hopefully will now colonise my flowering cherry.  Washing got done and next weeks groceries amended to include some classy red wine and a bottle of Tio Pepe, a festive favourite.  Decided I'd have a trial run of marzipan buns so went to print out the recipe. Although the printer has printed online items before it wouldn't print Nigel Slater because an ink cartridge needed replaced.  Replaced it.  Then wouldn't print because a second cartridge needed replaced.   Replaced that.  Then wouldn't print unless I installed some Canon software so I did.  Still wouldn't print the recipe.  Faffed around for a while with no success and eventually copied the recipe by hand muttering that it would have been quicker doing that from the start.  Got to the end  and was about to shut everything down when the printer suddenly showed signs of life.  Chuntered around for a while.  Stopped.  Then printed out five copies of the marzipan bun recipe.  By then of course I had no time to try the damned thing out.  I like Canon. The print quality is good.  My cameras are Canon.  But the printer seems to be designed to drive its users demented and bankrupt them buying ink cartridges.
Abandoned marzipan buns till tomorrow, had a late lunch and went out to get a photo.  Emma and Courtney were just coming home  and Courtney was in a hugging mood.  They are going to Edinburgh zoo tonight to see the lights so she was excited.  When I got round to Falkland Estate the light was going but I had a short walk and got some blips.  My favourite was this tree with a massive growth of Witches Broom.  It's not a parasite like mistletoe.  It's damage  which can be caused by a variety of organisms.   Removing it is possible but it makes a good home for squirrels and other creatures in the winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.