JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

Pond in the rain.

Up at a reasonable hour to do the usual bed and bathroom stuff, put the washing machine in action and feed the birds. It was raining but they were not deterred.  A blackbird nipped in to have a go at the mealy worms before the starlings arrived. Then the solitary jackdaw arrived but followed today by two of his mates.  The starlings are not going to give in easily so I think there is going to be a war.   The other birds ignore them and go for the sunflower hearts.  Lazed around as usual  over breakfast.  An e-mail arrived to say my lens adaptor is arriving on Monday,   I'm really pleased.  I was going to buy one when I bought the mirrorless camera but changed my mind.  There are four kinds and now I've got used to the camera and done a bit of research I think I've made a better choice. 
About midday I went round to the estate.  Rain was tipping it down. Two trees had come down beside the car park. Splintered branches everywhere.  Sad, but there are so many old trees in the estate it's inevitable.  The lime avenue has stood up well.  They were in a bad way years ago and had most of their branches lopped leaving them looking like telegraph poles.  But it paid off.  Now they have new branches and a new lease of life.  I had a little wander down Palace Walk thinking I would photograph a waterfall nearby but undergrowth has become taller so it was no go.  Ended up photographing the fish pond in the rain.
After lunch I made a start on the marzipan buns.  I so seldom bake it took me ages to assemble things and get started. Followed NIgel Slater's instructions to the letter except that I changed the ingredients slightly.   The dough remained the same.  The buns came out looking much better than I expected but I'm not too thrilled with the dough.  Think I'll stick to making stollen or make my dough in the breadmaker.  Not nearly so much clearing up to do that way.  Was going to do some Christmas stuff today but never got to it. I'm falling behind.  Must get to grips with present wrapping tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.