Clarks Barred

Later afternoon, a trip up town for some art. Howardena Pindell at the Fruitmarket - we only had 30 minutes so will definitely be back. But that was long enough to watch some of Rope/Fire/Water - extremely harrowing; it must be a struggle to be a black person and behave with equanimity towards white folks. 
On round the corner to the opening of an exhibition at Stills - a sort of “best of” work by 12 recent photography graduates as curated by their .. curator. To whom I was introduced by the SK, her being involved there, y’see. Me, I was just ligging, and trying not to embarrass her. 
No such worries later as I stopped into Clarks to meet up with the old work crew. I had noticed my old chum HB was rather hoovering the wine. And when two drunken Irishmen joined us in the back room, the scene was set. "What do you think of a united Ireland, big man?” was his opening salvo. I slapped my forehead and managed to extricate him after a short while and steered him through to the front bar where I ordered another drink - only to be refused! Honestly, he wasn’t that bad. And we never did find out. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.