Chestnuts roasting by an open fire.

We went to choose the Christmas tree today since E and J had their usual Friday night sleepover.  It didn't take long as J (Mr. Grumpy) gets embarrassed because I usually like to look at three or four to make sure I choose one with a good shape.  It's not a problem for the young man whose been working in the garden centre for a few years.  He can lift the 6-7 foot trees with one hand, bang it on the ground to loosen the branches and then I can see if there are gaps between the layers. We learned something new today.  I liked a 8-9 ft tree, but the top stem was bare.  I said I liked the shape of the rest of it and we could just cut off the top foot.  The man said oh not to do that as the top of the tree was important for preserving the moisture and if cut off would cause the tree to dry up.  it will be delivered some time this week.  
It was so wet and windy today that J decided to light the open fire and that provided me with an idea for Silly Saturday  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.