Thanks for the napping spot Mr. Woodpecker...

...I fit just perfectly!

Straight outside my dining room window, there is a woodpecker riddled tree trunk. I see all kinds of birds attack it looking for bugs, but I've never seen one go to sleep in it until today.

I was watching this chickadee fly from branch to branch around the yard and then he disappeared into the side of this tree. I waited for him to reappear, as I could not see what he was up to from my vantage point. Nothing... Did I miss him flying off?... Just in case I grabbed my camera and took off out the door to investigate. And there he was in a small cavity on the side of the tree. I was so excited, I shot 165 images. He let me get closer and closer but the light was fading. Long lens, low light and no tripod... I wasn't feeling good about the odds of anything looking good on the computer. So I dared to move in closer and brace my camera against an other tree... That did the trick! Amazingly, he wasn't bothered by me and let me click away.

I had a terrible time deciding what to post as my blip today. (A miracle really since the day started so dark and rainy. Most of the day I thought I'd have nothing to post and was going to set-up an indoor shot...) But, as it turned out I had a cracker of a day! I posted 5 of the best shots to Flickr if you'd like to check them out. (All but the robin could be viewed larger.) If you do take a peek, I posted this guy zoomed-out as well so you could get the feel for where he is. SO CUTE!

Speaking of large... this one is good to go! (BTW all but a little crop, this is SOOC.)

Weirdest weather day... It rained, snowed, hailed, was super cloudy, and sunny... and a few times, all of the above at the same time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.