Go away! This territory is mine!

The hummingbird males are beginning to claim their territory. After a long and very busy day, I realized I had not taken any pictures. I decided to take a walk down to Scudder Pond and into Whatcom Falls Park in search of a photograph. I met a photographer on the way who had a huge lens. (Do photographers get lens envy?) He was watching male Rufous Hummingbirds jockeying for territory. I saw flashes of orange but not much more. On my way back home, next to Scudder Pond, I stopped to talk to some friends on bikes. As we talked I noticed a tiny orange bird on top of a dead snag above the bushes. I aimed my telephoto lens at him and soon another came by and they had a bit of a sparring match over the territory nearby. Honestly I am not sure who won, if either. But I was delighted to get this photo of the two of them. They are Rufous Hummingbird males. That is the same kind of bird I photographed last year. Who knows? One of them might be the youngster I watched grow from a hatch-ling to a fledgeling. Wouldn't that be something!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.