Into the Woods, the Woods So Wild

Within the past year, the ClearWater Conservancy and Pennsylvania's DCNR added 1,271 acres of land that was formerly the Dry Hollow Camp to Rothrock State Forest. The land, located near Warriors Mark, was opened up to the public for all kinds of uses.

My husband and I had gone hiking there earlier this year, shortly after the news broke regarding the land acquisition. There are lots of great trees there, and it is chock full of vernal pools for the amphibians.

The property is sometimes referred to as "Scotia West," due to its proximity to the Scotia Barrens. Like the Scotia Barrens (which is my daily stomping grounds in all times OTHER than hunting season), these lands were explored for iron ore production by steel industry tycoon Andrew Carnegie; and reportedly, there are remnants of an old railway on the grounds.

It was a sunny and glorious afternoon, and my husband and I took one of the cars out for a spin. We ended up at the Dry Hollow Camp property (just seven miles from home), along with a whole bunch of hunters, with more than a dozen trucks crammed into the limited parking area. It is deer season now, and for your safety, you absolutely MUST wear blaze orange.

I find I want to say something about land. Here is the thing about land: they're not making any more of it. And the only way to protect it is to buy it. That's one of the reasons I support organizations like the Nature Conservancy; like our local ClearWater Conservancy, they acquire land and protect it, in the public interest.

Look at the pathway ahead. Doesn't it look inviting? My soundtrack song needs to be about the woods, so here are the Beatles, with Norwegian Wood. (Favorite viewer comment: "I swear, Paul McCartney could harmonize with a squirrel in a box and make him sound amazing!")

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.