Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Last Day!!

A sunny day, no wind, so when JR was back from her exertions, we took a dander into town. I wanted to see the ‘ice rink’ on George Street. And quite a structure it is too. Plenty of folk skating up and down having non stop Christmas music blasted out at them. Last time I was on an ice rink (1972) I fell and broke my wrist. Haven’t been on one since, but it does look fun. Sort of.

JR decided that it was much too brief a visit to town so she was staying, but Archie and I had had enough. Archie had his red jingle bell collar on and got many smiles as people passed him. He also had his plastic paw bag on for the last day (hopefully).

We went round by the amusements near the fountain. A good place for them with the castle looming nearby. I then decided that I should walk home, but Archie’s wee toenails had ripped open the freezer bag, so I didn’t want to get his feet wet on the Meadows. Also, I decided that I was actually too tired to walk home. So we climbed up the big long steps by the car park and got the bus home from the Usher Hall.

I got home just in time for the start of the Women’s Football final (Chelsea v Arsenal). As it was on the only channel I can get - BBC 1, and I didn’t really need any commentary (sound isn’t working either) it was quite satisfactory. Still, the technician is coming tomorrow.

While in town, you could almost imagine that you were in a pretty little Swiss village… NOT! (Extra)

As it’s the last day for the cone, Archie insisted we decorate it festively and take a final (we hope) photo.

One more night, Arch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.