Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Swim!

Denise took Archie out for a dreich walk today. Neither of them seem to mind the weather.

Edinburgh Leisure have put out a free 12 day pass in December, so I thought I’d try to make use of it. I’ve been working up to it for a while, and today was the day.

I went ‘swimming’. Actually, just floundering around near the wall, where I could hang on when I needed to. I managed to stay in for over half an hour, but it’s quite a come down from a few years ago when I used to swim, front crawl, for 40 minutes.

In the afternoon we just relaxed by the fire and watched ‘The Father’ on Netflix. It’s a film I’ve been wanting to see for ages, with Olivia Colman and Anthony Hopkins. Hopkins plays an elderly man with dementia, and it was very cleverly filmed, from his perspective, so we get confused as to who people are, or what is true. It was excellent! And very sad.

We’re getting squirrel visitors quite often on the wall outside the kitchen door, which is a window. They seem to like the big plant that grows in the neighbour’s garden. So Archie goes bonkers when he sees one, but they don’t seem too bovvered by his outrage. This one paused long enough for me to get the camera and take a photo through the window.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.