Sitting on a rock in Kawau Bay

Last Friday was Auckland's first day out of Lockdown since mid-August. Over one hundred days. Instead we have moved to the "traffic lights" approach, which has Auckland, and Northland and some of the Waikato on red. I'm not totally sure what is permitted and what has remained the same.

I'm remaining masked when out and about, and I scan my arrival at various places. I can now take my shopping bags into the supermarket rather than take purchases out to the car and put them in the bags there. I was able to go to the lab for my blood test and enter without screening questions; the staff are still wearing PPE.

When I go out for a jog, I carry a mask and put it one when I am going to be close to another person, which here at Snells Beach is uncommon. Most places I go are well away from where most people go; this afternoon, I was way out on the exposed sand near the edge of the water at almost low tide.

A little further south the rocky perches for the shags (here was a Kawau paka - little shag) were already surrounded by (shallow) water. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.