Sit Down

Hurrah! After eight weeks of sitting on plastic garden chairs, we finally have a settee to sit on. Ok, it’s not the one we’ve ordered, it’s not exactly our taste in furnishing and it’s not what you’d call in pristine condition, but it’s a considerable improvement on what we had before. The new suite is due on 30th December, so it’s only going to be for three weeks anyway.
The slight worry is that after squeezing this small, two seater settee into the lounge, we were asked what we had ordered for delivery in three weeks time. We described what we were expecting, which was met by a simultaneous sharp intake of breath through clenched teeth by both the delivery guys. Followed by the fateful words “probably have to take the window out to get that in”.
Now, we are no strangers to the concept of the window being removed to get large objects into the lounge (regular readers will remember my blip in early July regarding the struggle of getting the alcove liner into the lounge) but it’s a whole different ball game when everywhere is decorated, there’s a new carpet down and it’s the middle of winter! Nothing we can do to change the size of the furniture or the width of the doorways, so whatever will be, will be.
Trouble is, now that I’ve got something comfortable to sit on, I’m not really inclined to go shinning up and down ladders to get things out of the loft this afternoon. But if I want to clear the stuff cluttering up the floor in the lounge, I need to get all the books squared away in their rightful places so I know how many shelves I have left to play with. Though I strongly suspect that I have more books and assorted ephemera than I have shelf space available, so not everything will make the cut.
We’re at the stage now where all the major jobs have been done, and it’s just the finer details to sort. Unfortunately, it’s those little details that tend to need the most time and effort to get them sorted, so I suppose I’d better shift myself and make a start…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.