Doctor’s Orders

I went to see my oncologist today. Instead of the younger consultant, I saw the head of oncology. He confirmed that they got rid of all the cancer they know about and that it's now a matter of regular scans to make sure it stays away.

Last week I asked the surgeon if there was anything I could do to stop the cancer returning and he said there was nothing I could do. I asked the oncologist today the same question and he said that it was very important I enjoy myself. I laughed! I then asked him if he could write that down and sign it, which he duly did. I've smudged out his name on purpose. Suffice it to say that he has a PhD, a MD, is the head of oncology at a great hospital and knows what he's talking about. So if he says I should enjoy myself, what else can I do but follow doctor's orders?

I consider this a prescription for life and I'm going to have it framed. 


PS some backblips from the summer starting here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.