Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Taking flight

I can’t believe it’s two weeks since we last went to the reserve in Conwy, and despite the bitingly cold wind, it’s good to be back. 

The morning’s rain and hail have cleared - at least for now - and initially at least we’re walking in winter sunshine. Soon, the dark clouds that have been massing over the mountains loom ominously, the sun disappears and we fear the worse. The weather gods are with us, however, and the rain holds off until we complete our walk. 

And as we’re walking back along the estuary, alerted by our presence a group of ducks suddenly takes off. For once, I manage to focus as they fly across the water. I think they’re wigeon  - but please tell me if I’m wrong! 

My original intention was to post this in mono - ‘fly rhymes with pie’ to meet today’s challenge - but I just love their colours, so I’m afraid I’ve gone with colour - another shot in mono as an extra. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.