Maureen6002

By maureen6002

After the rain

Given a choice, today would have been a day to stay safe and warm and dry at home, but as it is I have an appointment in Liverpool to discuss the results of my last round of tests, so we head off through Storm Barra to the School of Tropical Medicine. 

Long and unpronounceable names of diseases are mentioned, but they still feel the likely culprit is TB - now treated, apparently, with an intensive six month course of heavy duty antibiotics. There are more tests needed - more biopsies - for a confirmed diagnosis, with sophisticated molecular analysis. How do I feel about this? Do I want to start the course now? Do I want to wait? Then there are the possible side effects …. 
To be honest, I’m not sure how I feel - but it’s some sort of progress, and we leave with things in limbo until we know the likely wait time for the tests. 

I’m amazed to find it’s now stopped raining and above us is a patch of clear blue sky - promising for our onward journey to the Wirral to see Daniel and Solveig.  I’m keen to stop at New Brighton’s street art, and this would have been my blip today, but later as we reach Meols, there’s an unexpected sunset of sorts. The morning’s storm has left the prom lake-like, and in the inky blues of a cold December twilight, the sky’s gold shines out. 

We eat with Daniel and Solveig, have a low-key belated celebration of her birthday, and finally drive home - hence another very late blip! I’ll be catching up with journals in the morning. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.