Finally

I hope the last time I have to search for a photo and use a screenshot.

Evening walk with Luna along the railway line from Munich to Memmingen and on to Zürich. This is one of the old double-decker carriages being pulled by dual diesel/electric locomotives. I think mid-December, when the annual new timetables start, we may have more of the pure electric trains and possibly fewer that stop at our parish station.

Never understood the policy, I guess this reduction in travel possibilities is being done to speed up the journey times, as most of the track from the Austrian/Swiss border at Lake Constance to Memmingen & then Buchloe, which has been electrified in the last few years, is single track. Why they didn't do a proper job and make it double tracked is beyond me. The line was closed for a year or more, and in our very rural area there are no real problems in making it twin tracked.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.