In Postal Order

This little scene is re-enacted in all the outer Isles on a daily basis.  The postwoman is waiting for the boat to bring in the mails, she will also give the crew the outgoing mails.  I’m not sure what kind of a poetic interpretation WH Auden could have conjured up.  The postwoman in the extra delivers the post in Hoy (mails arrives by a different route) the postwoman waiting in her van delivers around Lyness / Brims and Longhope.  Riveting I know.  But many entrants have been caught out by such detail in the end-of-year I@Creel exam.  Good luck to Brenda and Desmond.
 
I think someone on the south coast of England will notice the Martello Tower partly hidden by the 5mph sign.
 
First thing today I walked over to my s-i-l to impart the latest revelation from Hoy.  We decided I would be best to contact the police.  After a further call to Longhope I did and now have to go into Kirkwall to give a statement.
 
You’re just never sure

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.