The Eye of the Storm

A 'bit windy" first thing turned to "horrible" weather. Storm Barra had arrived.
Very strong winds and it poured. The wind built up strength and M moved  most of his bonsai into the  barn . 
The hedge is taking the brunt of the wind. It's almost bent over double at times. 
One of the larger shrubs in a pot has blown over and it's much to heavy to move anywhere so itll have to stay lying on its side. The plant is nothing special  but the pot is. It has a chinese dragon embossed on the side and you cant get one for love or money anymore. I hope that survives.  

The wind got wilder and was definitely  at least the 55 km ( 34 mph)  that was forecast in my weather app.  
 It seemed to ease off about 4:30 so I took Fletch out for a walk. Hed only been out once all day and that was in the garden.

It felt icy cold and I thought of the engineers battling away to repair the electricity  lines and reconnect people who been cut off in Storm Arwen.  I hope this storm doesnt wreak the same havoc 

It wasnt very windy though when I went out with Fletch. The blip photo appears to show the clouds moving away . The moon was visible too.  But we were just in the eye of the storm

 After taking Fletch home I nipped round to the Coop for basics.. bread.. (wine) etc and realised there was no wind. But as I reached our house suddenly there was a huge gust and then it got worse...worse than this afternoon.. 
The wind howled around us all evening. There were ominous bangs from the conservatory roof and the main roof and it was hard to relax. The local news said weve had gusts up to 70 mph and I can believe it. 

Now finally at 11:30 the wind has dropped .  A quick nop outside with the torch and no obvious damage, fingers crossed . I may sleep tonight
I hope you all are safe too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.