Frontier

By Frontier

Addicted

Utada Hikaru - Addicted To You (Underwater Mix)

These kinds of nights are great. Usually about once a month, the wife comes home and starts playing music videos on YouTube. The spiral begins and it’s one song after another. She has introduced me to many different artist and styles that I wouldn’t normally listen to. However, I’m a big Utada Hikaru fan and, like a lot of people, have a strong emotional connection to a few of her albums. If you haven’t heard of her, she’s one of (if not, THE) highest selling artist of Japan.

I don’t obsessively follow her like other fans but put on her mid-career and newer music when I’m in an emotionally serious mood. I can go on about her albums, Ultra Blue, Deep River and Heart Station until the cows come home. I don’t understand her lyrics but whatever it is, it’s so easy to feel through the music. I watched part of her concert on Netflix which had English subtitles, and once the meaning of her songs unlocked in my mind, I was broken, it was exactly what I was I thought I felt. I can’t bare to watch the whole concert in English, it’s too much.

Recommended songs:
- Fight The Blues
- Ultra Blue
- Keep Tryin’
- Flavor of Life
- Simple and Clean
- Blue
- Michi
- Sakura Drops
- Goodbye Happiness
… and many more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.