Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Ready For The Ball

It poured with rain most of today. I ran a few errands but I never went for a walk. I was supposed to have the windscreen replaced in Alfie the Campervan today but it was too wet and the guy that came said we’d have to postpone. Which is ok - I’ve only waited since August for the windscreen to be imported from Japan - so I can wait a couple more weeks, hoping for a dry day!

One of the errands was to drop off a donation at a local charity. The Cowshed has been running for about 3 years they are… “a crisis charity that provides clothing and other items for individuals and families in Berkshire experiencing hardship.” A friend volunteers there and she gave me a very quick tour.

One of the services they provide is ‘Prom at the Cowshed’ - renting out prom dresses and suits for kids from families in need. The cost of the outfits are often cost prohibitive and many kids would not be able to attend their prom without the help of the Cowshed. This is their ‘prom room’. There’s another one with all the suits. What a beautiful rainbow of dresses, and what a good initiative!

No, I wasn’t donating a dress - I dropped off 3 sets of long curtains. Amazingly, just today they’d had an urgent request for three sets of long curtains, the very same day I asked my friend if they could use them! So I drove there immediately and dropped them off, even though they normally take their donations at another location. Maybe by now (I’m writing this two days late), they are hanging in the ‘new’ home of a family who have been rehoused. I bought them years ago and never ended up using them so I’m very happy that they filled an urgent need. Better there than folded up underneath my bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.