Wellington Market

Wellington gained its market charter in 1244 and has held a market ever since. We called in at the market to see if we could pick up some gifts to take to family we were visiting this afternoon.

The market has been central to my life story as creating a map showing the layout of stalls was my first ever piece of geography homework set 1965 and was ultimately responsible for my career as a teacher and geographer.

The relations we went to see today are the only surviving branch of my father’s family. Dad was an only child and his uncle only had one child and it was this relation we went to see today.

She and her husband are in their 80s and are at the heart of an extensive, tightly knit family of two sons, four grandchildren and four great grandchildren all of whom live nearby.

They live in the house where Margaret was born and the place I’ve visited for well over 60 years. She is the holder of all the knowledge about my father’s side of the family and I always learn something new when we talk.

We met one of her grandchildren today, the first time we’ve seen her. It was interesting to talk to her about our family relationship and people whose lives we share.

That’s the end of family meetings for now. Back to Kent tomorrow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.