Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Forest Bathing

The sun appeared today, and I spent a very happy couple of hours pootling around Old Sulehay NR, peering under logs and stones and generally soaking in the atmosphere of the quarry and the adjacent ancient woodland.

I didn't find anything particularly unusual, but just enjoyed many small winter details - curls of birch bark waving in the breeze, the last golden birch leaves, tree trunks clothed in soft cushions of moss and lichen...

A landmark report by Forest Research has found that visits to the UK’s woodlands boosts mental health and is estimated to save £185 million in treatment costs annually. I love virtually all wild places but there are some places I always end up at when I need a bit of time out - Old Sulehay is one of those.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.