lovelife209

By mindful_life

Back to blip

As always happens when I meet up with my blip friend I thought I would revisit blipping. I have been terribly busy with work, in the world of conveyancing it was been a whirlwind 18 months with stamp duty holidays etc and now that it’s finished the work is still pouring in.

But I always find time to run and have been thinking about journaling my running for next year - the challenges I set myself etc - so what better place to start than here.

In October I ran my first official marathon. I say official because last year I ran the distance on my own in my home town. It was an absolutely amazing day. I wanted to run it in under 4 hours and I managed it with just 11 seconds spare!

5 days after the marathon I decided I would start a run streak - where you run every day, which I do most of the time anyway. Today marks 6 weeks since I started and my photo is me at the end of my run this morning. I ran 10 miles today and was home by 7am to get ready for work and the kids to school.

Last year I ran 2020 miles for 2020 and this year I thought I would see how many half marathons I could run. I only have 3 weeks to go now and so far I’m up to 40. I’m hoping I get to 45 and I should do 2021 miles for 2021.

So next years challenges are on my mind of course. At the moment, I am thinking I will try and do 52 half marathons, run every day and I’m considering an ultra marathon in the summer. It will be 100km, or 62miles. I’m also entered for a marathon in the autumn.

But why you might ask? All I can say is that I love running. I run with friends, I run on my own. I run in the rain, the wind, the snow and the sun. I watch the change of seasons over the year, the beautiful sunrises in Spring and Autumn. I listen to books, dozens of them, I listen to music, sometimes I just listen to the sounds of nature. I say good morning to everyone I pass. Sometimes people respond, sometimes they don’t. I have to replace my trainers every 3 months because they get worn out. Mostly, running just makes me feel good. It gives me a focus, makes me feel alive and energised for the day and able to face whatever life throws at me.

So here it begins… or continues, and I hope you will join me along the way x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.