Snaring attempt

I’ve only been back from the field a few nights but I’m already away again for a couple more. I’m trying to snare two fantastic consultants who are currently in between jobs and holed up in Ponta do Ouro, at the southern extremity of Mozambique. Worthwhile the journey to meet with them and plan a contract with us starting early next year. I caught a bus from Maputo’s downtown area, which crawled towards Ponta for most of the afternoon. It was hot but the wind blew and cooled the bus down when it wasn’t setting down passengers. I particularly enjoyed the soundtrack: various Michael Jackson numbers, and at least a few repetitions of both When The Going Gets Tough, and Caribbean Queen. Giraffes on the stretch of road that passes through Maputo Special Reserve are always excellent to see on this route.

Beach rules are forever confusing as major ones, including Ponta’s, are closed to bathers. We are allowed to walk on them, so I strolled and then located pizza.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.