The second half of life..

By twigs

...and a starling in a pohutukawa tree...

Went into town today - it felt like a long time since I've been.  Several firsts - first time being asked for my vaccine passport, first time this year I've willingly shopped in a store playing Christmas carols (I walked out of a couple when I heard jingle bells in early November!) and first time in a very long time someone has said I looked younger than my age.  That made my day :D 

On my way home I detoured to Monaco to see if the kingfishers were about at R's place.  R saw me peering into her tree and popped out for a chat.  I learnt that they've chosen their nesting site ie which hole in the tree they'll use (see extras) but their previously reliable 'schedule' (around in the early morning and mid-evening) is blown apart and they're coming and going pretty much any time.  R thinks there are eggs being tended to on the nest at the moment so may be hatching in a week or two.  According to this article, it will be about 26 days until they fledge.......I think I have a bit of patient waiting and watching ahead.

IN COVID news, there were 60 new cases r,eported today.  There are 60 in hospital and 3 in ICU.  There are no new cases in Nelson today but 1 person is in hospital.  94% of the eligible population are now fully vaccinated and 89% are partially vaccinated.  We're looking like reaching the magical 90% fully vaxed well before Christmas.  More soberingly, two deaths were reported yesterday.  

(PS, as usual when referncing this kingfisher activity on someone's private property, the map location in very general.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.