If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Chinese Lantern ( Physalis alkekengi )

Thursday so a wander round Kanyl's garden between showers and before the light faded too much.

The texture of these Physalis caught my eye.  A word about my use of scientific names as some may wonder why I use them.  There are a number of reasons.  I seem to have grown up knowing scientific names.  When at college obviously the lecturers used scientific names.  While at college we went with some lecturers to the alps climbing.  I had a fascinating chat with the ten year old son of one of the guides (I had no german but he had excellent English).  The problem came when I asked about a very abundant bird, he said it was a " Joch Dolley".  Which meant nothing to me.  Eventually, I learned it was an Alpine Chough - Pyrrhocorrax graculus.  This brought home the need for a recognisable name across languages for identification.  So in case, there is anybody who reads my burblings I want them, if they are interested, to be able to find out exactly what it is I am wittering about.

Back to the blip.  The texture of the seed pod, or should I say the skeleton of the seed pod seemed to suggest mono.  As there was little or no colour left I went mono.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.