memento

By memento

Renewal

Last year, we transformed our postage stamp sized urban yard into a garden. Up until then it was little more than a weed patch with some mud puddles and a few well used grassy spots, perfect for our doggy's ablutions.

We had a lot of help from a landscaping service...they tackled all the hardscape features that required more skill than we have but we designed the plan and planted the majority of the perennials ourselves.

Since returning from our long trip yesterday, I've had a bit of time to wander around and marvel at the miraculous renewal that is occurring, the most impressive being a small Magnolia Merrill in the front yard. It is loaded with huge, fragrant blooms, bursting from soft, fuzzy capsules that started swelling last November at sat dormant all winter.

My blip name is Memento Fiori for a reason. I love flowers. When I'm without them all winter, I think and dream about them, remembering them in all their glory. When they return, I think and dream about them, and attempt to blip them in all their glory.

So, heads up...my summer blip journal will be filled with flowers. I need to record all the new living things I am lucky enough to take care of. For those blippers who get sick of flowers...you know who you are...:) I'll throw in a few non-flower blips just to keep you from gagging.

Promise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.