Day 1, UK (Heathrow)

Happy to have a comfy bed but why didn’t I choose a hotel with windows that open?!
A good big breakfast was delivered to my room, my manager messaged then I set out to find my Covid test provider in the T4 long stay car park. I’m a five minute walk from Hatton Cross station. I arrived 40 minutes later to be turned away because it was drive through and I was on foot. Health and Safety issue because I had to walk through a car park.. meltdown 1 - but I need this test. I was told to go to T5 where the same company would do the test (I wasn’t the first to walk there - there’s a big demand at Heathrow). But how do I get there? Get an Uber he said, but I don’t have Uber (not in Greece), catch a bus, but I only have euros because the exchange wasn’t open. I set off, only to be stopped by a policeman asking where I was going. I’d been walking in the median strip to cross the road. I stepped closer to hear him, step back he barked as I told him I was trying to get my Covid test. Meltdown 2. I kept walking. Twenty minutes passed - that was how long it would take to walk, I was told.. I could see the terminal.. stopped to talk to some plane spotters, only 30 minutes from here, they said. I eventually made it. It was logical to the staff a drive through was not a walk through. Test done, hot chocolate bought.. bus found. Back to the hotel, frozen, stiff knee. Studied, watched cheap Airbnb’s disappearing as I wait for my results.. studied, dinner was the huge quantity of breakfast I’d (unknowingly) ordered. TV, fell asleep. It’s only a 2 hour time difference, but..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.