Tilting At Windmills, Whitstable

Had another short trip to the seaside today, this time it was Whistable's turn. Luckily, it was gloriously sunny but with a really biting northerly wind that cut through you like a knife. Of course, when we go there we have to visit the Old Neptune pub and decided today would be no different. We purchased our pints and decided to sit outside. The landlord told us we were being "brave" and we soon found out why - it was absolutely freezing sitting facing the beach (see third extra for the silhouettes of me and my brother on the shingle). The wind was so strong it started to blow our plastic pint glasses across the table. Unfortunately, I didn't catch mine in time and it blew over, so I lost big splash of my beer!
The first two extras were taken further along the beach - I loved the slightly dubious name of the yacht in the background, "Touch & Go". Not sure if I'd get on that one! After our travails along the beach we decided to go to the "smelly" end of Whitstable where the fishing port is and that's where I took today's main shot and the last extra. It's such an atmospheric part of the town and a great place to take some images. We had a lovely time and also managed a bag of chips sitting on a a bench before getting in the car and heading home. A very enjoyable day indeed.
The definition of tilting at windmills is "to use time and energy to attack imaginary enemies". This is Boris all over, a typical way of him deflecting blame on to anyone or anything else, so I thought it was an apt title for the mess we're in right now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.