Marionb

By Marionb

Star of Wonder...

Star of Light...

I have my house pretty much decorated for Christmas now, but I'm still faced with an overly-abundant stash of decorations that still do not have a home!  I have been trying to find empty surfaces and walls on which to display them, but at the moment, I am stymied...there seem to be no vacancies! 

But I did find a place of honour for this Christmas Star quilted wall hanging...

It is one of my favourites..it was a very special gift from my friend Mary from Grand Manan. Mary is an excellent quilter and this piece really shows off her talents. The process of making it involved a lot of different skills and used a variety of materials including beads, sequins, tiny mirrors, metallic threads, and overlays of organza. I love the design and the bits of glitter and reflected  light that come from those embellishments.. and I like it because it is red.  

Over the years, Mary has given me several gifts that soon became "my favourites things" ( future blips?) This was definitely one of them. Luckily it hangs on a wall so all I had to do to find it a place of honour was take something else down..easy peasy.

BUT,  my dilemma now is what to do with all the other decorations that need a vacant surface...that will be a challenge...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.