Marionb

By Marionb

Let There Be Light....

.... And a Wifi Signal.... 

What a day - brilliant morning..so mild..neighbours were chatting on the street in tank tops! We knew we were in for winds later though, but still..what a treat the morning was...I spent most of it working on my Christmas cards, and then did a couple errands outdoors taking advantage of the good weather...that didn't last... 

As expected, in the early afternoon, the sun disappeared, the dark clouds moved in and eventually those extreme winds blew in as predicted. I had a very wee nap, curled up by the fire....woke up just as it was getting dark and ..hmmm something was amiss... the landline phone was beeping? The wifi modem had no power...the overhead lights were only coming on half strength, others not at all..Not a total power outage, I guess it was what you would call a brown-out? Sirens out there..no street lights working... hmmm.. obviously those vicious winds had done some damage somewhere, but there was no way to find out as the power company was not accepting any calls...

So, out came the candles..couldn't cook dinner, couldn't read, couldn't watch tv or use the internet, couldn't even listen to the radio as the signal came and went..so after lounging around for a few hours, I gave up and went to bed.. just in time for the power to come back on! So, up I got - didn't want to, but after all, I now had a wifi signal and could post a blip..which unfortunately is not a very exciting or colourful one..but candle light was the photo that best told the story of my day...

I have no idea what damage has been done here in Ontario by these crazy winds, but I am sure when I turn on my tv now, I will find out and will also see the devastation of those tornadoes in the USA..How horrific that must have been..I know of at least one fellow blipper who lives in one of those states that were hard hit and I hope she is safe...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.