Blips by cb

By cbimages

A Milestone

No apologies because this happened in 2014, but it came up in my FB News Feed today so I thought it reasonable to post today. 

I was one of the flying instructors on the University of London Air Squadron, a RAF Volunteer Reserve unit for recruiting entrants to the RAF, as well as engendering "air mindedness" in undergraduates.  This lady, a doctor by now, was one of my students and this photo was taken to mark her first solo flight, a pretty important milestone.  It was doubly impressive because medical students have to work very hard just to maintain progress in their studies at university; to manage to put time aside to study for training flights (they have to know all the checks in the cockpit and to understand each lesson before it is flown) requires commitment and a fair degree of brain power.

I did enjoy that job . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.