Begging (Day 2410)

It has been a busy old day. After a trip to town to collect stuff, I headed to Orphir to change the igniter in a boiler. Next job was across on Stromness, doing a bit more on the shower re-fit that I have been doing in little bits for a while. I started off with ply-lining the enclosure. A relatively simple job which took longer than it should have because there was nowhere to cut the sheets of ply at the customer's house, and the strong wind made it impossible to do outside. I opted to use Mum and Dad's garage, a mile or so along the road.
As I screwed the first sheet of ply to the wall I had a moment of brain fade and put a screw through one of the supply pipes for the shower. Cursing myself, off came the ply and a bit of plasterboard so I could fix the leak.
The ply sizes weren't critical and I templated the new ply from the stuff I took out. When it was all lined, I started to measure up for the wet wall and realised that nothing was straight, level or plumb. Cutting out the odd, irregular shapes took far longer than I would have liked and I had a late finish, but the worst of the job is done.
After leaving the job, I headed along to the shed as my beautiful wife had asked me to give Jeepers a feed. All of the horses were a bit high, and I decided it would be sensible to put Jeeps in the stable to get his feed. He wasn't all that keen and I had to drag him out of the field. George was really keen to get into the stable when Jeeps finally started to eat. He nearly managed to open the stable door, then opted for trying to look appealing. I took pity on him and shared an apple with him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.