ruth_cph

By ruth_mottram

Almost like cherry blossom in December

Another dark blip, but honestly it feels like I haven't seen daylight for weeks now! And it's not just because I've been working so much in the cpuntdown to Christmas - the weather has just been very very dreich (surprisingly there doesn't seem to be a Danish word that really translates dreich well) and it really hasn't been properly light most days. Foggy enough for two ships to collide in the Øresund today too.

Anyway, I whizzed down this street on my bike and these trees, which I initially thought were rowan, but turn out to be crab apple really stood out with their boughs laden with fruit, all glowing pink in the street lights. It put me in mind of cheerful spring days and cherry blossom..
I think the Christmas lights on the house behind make it seem quite a cosy atmosphere overall.

The drizzle, which I think would be described as smirr in scots is called støvregn - "dust rain"- in Danish. It adds a delightful soft focus to the picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.