misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

The Arrival of the Field Inspector of Renovations

This photo of Uncle Buddy, an All-Black cat, practicing his special staring skill. t was taken just after the Field Inspector left our house. UBB is the author of today's blip.

Here is what happened at our house 4/2. Background: we have suffered under nearly 8 weeks of inside renovations to the doorways and the new, tiled huge shower.
Today the Field Inspector arrived. Here is part of my report including Gracie Twinkle-toe's athletic, no-water, entertaining interlude. You may recall a few months back when Gracie T-t jumped into the recently emptied aquarium and got blipped? Scroll back the autumn...
This morning we ran into light snow with air @ -6.6ºC before Bill, the Field Inspector of Bathroom Renovations, arrived. He and mom talked and talked and talked. I did my best to distract him and get him out of the house, especially after I heard him say that he hated cats. And," Eew, eew, a black cat," when he saw me. "Bad luck Bad Luck!"
Soon as they sat I jumped up on the arm of mom's chair and started reminding her that my second breakfast was over due. I jumped down and rubbed on the Inspector's legs. Got a real chuckle when I felt him flinch! Then mom told him the sad truth that when black cats get sent to some animal shelters they are the first to be put to death because they are black. Humans think black cats are like black humans. The Inspector stared at me and I stared back as sweetly as I could. Then mom said, "Of course, it is racism--plain and simple." He had trouble with that thought but she said, "Well, look at Uncle Buddy... he's black." I stood still looking as 'black' as possible.
They went back to work reviewing the 7 and 1/2 weeks worth of house disruption, dust, and renovation work before she signed the form to release the check to Elf #1. I spent the time going in and out, touching the man' legs... smiling.
~~ The real entertaining floorshow started when Gracie Twinkle-toes-- our independently funny, polydactyl girl, stepped into the room. She barely greeted the guest. He appeared bothered by the fact that, except for her white tuxedo fur, she's also a black cat. GT-t is enjoying her discoveries in the re-arranged furniture, including the still-empty aquarium tank in a corner. For now it has no lid on it. So GT-t took a leap and jumped into the tank-- much to the surprise of the Inspector who never has seen a cat in a fish tank!
She then began licking and tasting the small gravel stones still in the tank. (Ick!) It has the 'biological remnants' of the goldfish and plants from months ago before the renovation stopped our access to the tank. For a moment all conversation stopped. I was cheering GT-t on because mom should get the message that we WANTED our second breakfast and this guy has to get out of the house!
Finally, GT-t acrobatically jumped out with an Olympic-quality, multi-toed landing. She displayed her very best "wiggle-bottom' walk while she went to the bedroom to hop into the big sleeping basket for her nap. It was left to me to get the cat-hater out of the house. I sent special brainwaves to him while rubbing his legs, and finally he went to the door. I politely slipped outside and I thought I heard him, "Grrr..." Whew! We got our teaspoons of fishy food... finally!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.