What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Training in the Sun

What a bunch of April Fools me and my fellow Camino-ers* are! While most of our friends were enjoying a relaxing Easter Monday with plenty of R&R we took a train to Ely and then walked back to Cambridge - all told a distance of about 15 miles - with a few extra ones on top for me walking to/from the train station.

And the best part? This was done with a fully laden backpack; including the water I took on mine was probably about 13kg (which is above what I hope to take to Spain) so the training was well worth it. The only trouble I've had is with my knees but that's a long term issue that I've learned to live with - and I've invested in a pair of trekking poles for the trip as well which should relieve some of the stresses on them.

(The sun coming out was the second best part!)

*excluding Mark, who was at home walking when we skived off earlier over the Easter weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.