SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

G21

G21 is the name given to our son's final year of school.  Today was his graduation.  In Australia the school year aligns with the calendar year.  It ends with the summer break - I guess in that sense it's aligned with UK and US?  This afternoon they had the formal graduation ceremony followed by "The Formal".

The graduation was outdoors in keeping with COVID policies.  Two parents / carers per pupil.  His school is a government co-ed school targeted at students wanting to go to university - so there's basically the same number of students in year 7 as in his year, year 12.  So... no mean feat today with 129 graduating students.

There's only one more "event" remaining - "schoolies" which was meant to happen in October but has been postponed until January (look out Lurline!).

The weather today was perfect - they had a backup plan where they'd move indoors if necessary with 1 parent each - but this was not required.  Yet another example of the fantastic job the teachers and staff at his school have done in this very odd scholastic year.

I actually took this photo yesterday but forgot about it - should've posted it then.  He texted me from the shop where he picked up his rented suit "do you have any cufflinks?".  I took this on my and sent to him with a smiley face.  I'd completely forgotten I even had all these.  10 years or so back I went through a phase of wearing white cotton shirts everyday with cufflinks (and an Akubra hat)!  Seems weird now.  Before that job I was in a "jeans and t-shirts" company and tomorrow I'm going into the office in jeans (I've never been a t-shirt wearer).

Cufflinks - more stuff to jettison!

He's home safe now - a great day for him, his mates (some of whom are still out there somewhere) and his parents.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.