Myrmecology

Strava Day 198/75 Hard Off Phase Day 16. Outdoor workout, reading and a couple of liters done.
***
Grateful for getting quality sleep,the usual breakfast conversation with T and for the calm.
***
Yesterday, people at home were expressing concern as to whether my Coaches are fine with my level of activity. Ma said I'm too thin (funny because she is thinner and when I told her that she seemed delighted and even said nonchalantly that she doesn't know why she is not gaining weight while she eats "a lot" maintains a strong appetite...if it's someone else I'll probably raise my eyebrows and be momentarily irked but since it's my Ma, I just took a deep breath and smiled). Reassured her that I do daily weigh ins and that my weight is still "normal" and my BMI is healthy. Am aware that there are already a lot criticism as to the BMI but I have no qualifications as of yet to start invalidating my current way of measuring my consistency and accountability. Interestingly though, Dylan Thomas stating he is eight stone in one of his letters had me googling his height. Really funny scene if you could imagine it. Dylan in the 1930s most positively never thought his private exchange with his then lover would be published and read by thousands almost a century later. Comforting to know that his sentiments resonates with my own (and most probably someone else's).
***
Told my Pa the program I chose to do runs for a year and he then commented that it is longer than the SEAL training. Previously mentioned from a blip sometime last year that he is a retired Marine while my Ma used to be part of the Philippine Army. Having conversations with him/them regarding something they have experienced or have an idea about is rare and thus sharing David Goggins' story for a few minutes with them felt good.
***
Here's to you finding time to take a breath and remember a few good things.
***
P.S. Title is in reference to the specialized branch of Entomology focused on ants. T is currently quite serious about his interest and dreams of becoming an ant farmer and Myrmecologist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.