Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Look who's been hiding!

With talk of much needed rain on the way, it seemed prudent to cover the lovely pile of fresh firewood gathered on Good Friday.

Luckily I remembered a tarp stashed away on a kindling pile, so after fetching it and unravelling it, imagine my surprise to be greeted by this handsome chap.

I'm what I like to call a recovering arachnophobe. A few years ago I couldn't even look at a photo of a spider, yet alone be in the presence of one. Yes, I know it's not a particularly manly admission, but I've been in a state of near panic with a spider on a wall nearby.

Not so much these days though. In fact when I see a spider these days, I'm more than likely to be running away from it to get my camera and macro lens rather than having conniptions!

I'm not sure what triggered the change, strangely. Maybe its the country air and combination of immersion therapy. After all, we've got plenty of spiders here. Maybe it was a trip to up-state Victoria when I met a couple of huntsman spiders. Who knows. Just don't put one down my shirt - I'm not quite there yet....

Incidentally, this is my first blip with my new 90mm Tokina f2.5 macro. I think we're going to get on famously!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.