Mothers

No real tree this year as we'll be out of town. Ellie and I decorated this little one before she left, so we started Christmasing earlier than usual. She needed something festive, I think. This shot makes the walls look mossy. They're not, usually. :-)

I've been doing some family history research today for my sister. It's interesting (I think) to consider how the many decisions made by people  way-back-when contribute, objectively speaking, to who and where we are today. Anyway, Kristie and I are a mix of Scottish, English and German. She likes to follow our maternal line as far back as possible, so that's what I'm doing: Kathryn-Helen-Eva-Laura-Grace-Hannah-Grace-Hannah-Hannah-Elizabeth-Rachel-Mary-Christian, the last having arrived in New England way back in 1630. Lots of different mothers and mothers of mothers. DNA doesn't go back that many generations, but it's interesting to find who immigrated in all the various lines. Anyway, that's what we've found after quite a few years of off-and-on research, by me and a lot of other people! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.