Land out of legend...

Just a quick view of my neighborhood in passing. I have been running too fast to blip for the past few days.

Sylvia (see extras), the mother of my dear friend Donna Hayes, died Monday after a fall in her bedroom. Donna was her mother's care-giver and was devastated when she found her mother dead on the bedroom floor Monday morning. Now she's absorbed in preparing for the funeral and memorial services, and she is using the most hilarious obituary I have ever seen as her model. (It's possible the hilarity of it will only be clear to people in the USA, as it's a bit slangy.)  I've been helping in the small ways I can.

The ethers are absorbing energies from some very great people's passing, with bell hooks and Malidoma Somé both dying very recently. We are poorer without them, and locally without Sylvia. Somé's work was foundational for the work I did with traditional healers in Lesotho and South Africa 1992-1999.

I have this wonderful song by Bernice Reagon on repeat: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AX3l2mrkP5U&list=RDMMAX3l2mrkP5U&start_radio=1

Apologies for not being able to comment or respond. Sylvia was a great force in the world for justice, and she was as hilarious as she was brave. In the second extra she holds a sign she made after she saw a cop draw a gun on a squirrel. The reason the police gave for shooting her unarmed great-grandson while he was on his knees with his hands in the air was that they "feared for their lives," so she began a campaign to ridicule them for their fear of unarmed people...and squirrels. 

I will be back. I'm OK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.