A mouse's tale

I have a sad story for you today. I took delivery of a batch of bird food today. I keep the fat balls in a lidded plastic bucket in the shed, and when I came to replenish it, I found this little guy dead inside the bucket. It's a mystery how he managed to get in it's quite a deep bucket and the lid was in place. He can't have been dead for very long - his eyes are still shiny and his coat glossy. We've seen wood mice in the garden - including on the trail cam, taking peanuts in the dead of night. I think this one must have died with a full tummy. I gave it a sky burial.
On a happier note, I caught a badger on the trailcam last night. They are obviously out and about after the terrible weather, no doubt digging for worms now the ground has unfrozen.
Post Script: just looking ast this again and thinking I don't think this is a wood mouse after all. It looks more like a bank vole.... reddish fur, ears a bit big though

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.