GrahamMcArthur

By GrahamMcArthur

Reflection

There is a famous Zen saying describing the journey we all take.

First step, mountain is mountain.
Second step, mountain is not mountain.
Third step, mountain is mountain.


I had the chance to spend an hour alone this evening before I attended the monthly meeting of the Astronomical Society of South Australia. I spent that time meandering along the River Torrens at the back of the Uni. There we a half a dozen rowing squads training, ducks by the hundreds, pelicans, swans and other assorted birds. Runners, cyclists, walkers and of course people commuting. I was taking photographs and generally just walking around in my own little world.
At some point I sat down in the sun and began watching some little ducks at play and the zen quote drifted into my mind and I forgot all about work, the day's troubles, tomorrows expectations, and was lost entirely in the moment; time had stopped, and I understood that a mountain is a mountain.

___

EDIT - Just to add to my blip a wee bit. When I downloaded my shots for the day I noticed that every one of the 200 I took had identical camera settings. I didn't change a thing and never gave it a thought - white belt mistakes - big fail and this explains why I struggled to find a worthy blip. This one would have been better if I upped the ISO and the shutter speed etc. If I had slowed down, thought a little bit and relied on the things I have learnt, I would have 'automatically' changed the settings for almost every shot or every 3rd-4th shot. I was in that "mountain is not mountain" mind set - I had not 'recognised what I was looking at'. Too eager to 'get the shot' and failed to 'take the shot'. Rather than relax, take my time, reflect, think, and then really 'take the shot'.
Take care everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.