Panic.....

Today my task was to make up the apron that I am making for a friend, to give to another friend for Christmas. I finished the cutting out of the backing and the straps and then set to piecing all the patchwork squares  and sewing them together on the overlocker. In a few hours I had the skirt, the bib and the pocket all done and was quite pleased with how it had turned out. I then needed my sewing machine to attach the pocket to the skirt before adding the backing. Unfortunately said sewing machine decided that it wasn't playing! I did all the usual checks but still no go! So out came Mr YouTube who has a knack of knowing everything! I had the machine apart as per instructions but have to admit I'm not the most technical of minds and couldn't get to grips with the finer details. Barry is an engineer so reluctantly I had to ask for help! Unfortunately Mr YouTube had not been quite precise enough and it took and hour or so for Barry to work out the mechanics and then he was able to fix it. He also oiled it all for me while it was in pieces, which I think has probably needed doing for a while too! Finally at 8pm I was able to sew the pocket onto the front. Tomorrow I will be putting it all together on the overlocker and then top stitching on the sewing machine. Fingers crossed it will be finished. I need to pass it over on Saturday....all a little bit close to the wire for my liking! 
I must get my cards finished and in the post by Saturday too. I really must get better at planning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.