Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Nordic seed and nut loaf

I am not sleeping that well lately, I tend to always get a bit stressy at Christmas time trying to plan menus and making sure I can get all the food before it runs out at the supermarket. So at 4am I have shopping lists running through my mind! With all the boys home there are many meals to plan and prepare, and although they do help and always cook their own breakfasts and lunches they are not the kind of boys who get by on a cheese sandwich so meals are big and involve lots of ingredients, hence lots of visits to the shops.

This morning due to a mix up P did not walk Xena when I was counting on that, so Gavin took her out while I got on with cooking meals for the weekend in Norfolk. I made a roasted carrot, tomato and lentil soup, then made a roasted parsnip and roasted celeriac coconut curry for dinner tonight. Finally I made a Nordic seed loaf as seen here from Mary Berry's latest recipe book (which I love) - it is gluten free and packed full of goodness with all those nuts and seeds.

I have packed and we are now waiting for Inca to return after she finishes at the stables, and then we will set off for Norfolk. We are only going for a couple of nights and plan to enjoy some walking - thankfully my foot is feeling much better and no longer is painful after a walk. This will be the first time Gavin won't be hanging pictures, mirrors or some other job around the house so he too can relax.

Tommy got his booster today so that is the entire family done which is a relief. I suppose this will become a regular thing now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.