Gone fishin'

I decided to clean out my fish-less tank and get it ready for Christmas. The remaining fish died some time ago, not sure why, so I've emptied it and am about to give it a spring clean, or a winter-clean I suppose. I sterilised the gravel, which is actually crushed slate off the beach on the Isle of Seil, and thought I'd pop down-town to Pets at Home to buy a sturdy new plant, as most of my Java Fern was looking a bit shabby. 

The plant on the right, which is also Java fern, or Microsorum pteropus to give it its Latin name, was attached to a stone as you can see. It was priced at £17, which seemed pretty steep, whereas a similarly sized fern on a piece of wood was only £7.  I can't imagine paying £10 for a stone, when as somebody said in the 'Stone of Destiny' film, the whole bl**dy country's made of stones'! 

I'll get everything set up and settled and in a few days time buy some colourful fish, neons or cardinals I think. I did suggest they would be a good Christmas present, but maybe they wouldn't like to be lying in a Christmas-wrapped box under the tree for a few days!

Very warm climbing back up to the house - 9° in fact and not a breath of wind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.