Beewriter

By Beewriter

Tree House

I don't usually go peering over people's garden fences, but I had to make an exception today. I have always wanted a tree house, I think they are exciting. I spent my childhood climbing trees, one of my best birthday presents was a rope ladder that was hung from one of the trees at the bottom of our garden. I used to whizz up and down that tree and hang upside down from the rungs. If I'd had a tree house I think my life would have been complete.

I have driven past this tree house a few times and it has stirred many memories. We had names for some trees...there was The Easy Tree which sadly was chopped down to make way for a new house and The Worm, which I will photograph one day.

A couple of years ago I made a list of ten challenges I wanted to do over the summer holiday and one was to climb a tree again. Whilst my friend looked on, laughing, I struggled up and just about made my way down.

The children who have this tree house have a long ladder to climb to get up to their den which sort of defeats the object, but it is really high and must feel very exciting to be in.

Pat and I went to Ellen's for a cuppa but we couldn't stay too long as Pat announced that she, "...had to get home to warm Stuart's pie." I've heard of some euphemisms but this is one of the best!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.