Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Getting it wrong

When I woke it was grey and dull - as yesterday - but I wanted a walk so I went to the reserve anyway.  As I was nearly home the sun came out and has stayed out ever since, but I had no more time or energy for walking.  That miffed me!

Never mind, I did see some lovely wildlife, even if I didn't blip it as it deserved - a sparrowhawk flying, a pair of cormorants ditto, and the kingfisher, who I stalked all along the thinner branch of the river, when along came a noisy family of 7 + pushchair.  Well that's why I don't go to Winnall Moors at the weekend!

Anyway, here are two goldfinches feeding on alder seeds.  And in Extras a closer look at the alder at this time of year.  I always love seeing trees or plants showing a double aspect like this.  The seeds ripening in the fruit at the same time the catkin is wrapped tight waiting to open in spring.

Hope your Saturday's treating you kindly  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.