Northern Star

By Lifferz

Mad Friday

At 3.5% I’m celebrating the end of my main job for the rest of the year and the start of the holidays. In Wigan this day is known as Mad Friday but it has all sorts of other, even more worrying or violent names in other places in the country apparently!

I know someone once who was very very unwell (as a young person), having drunk too much advocaat. It makes me shudder as to how awful that must have been. It makes me think of a time I was unwell after I ate 2 bags of marshmallows at a fairground once and then decided to go on the waltzer. I was about 9 years old. I think I was rather wizzy on all the sugar. When the waltzer stopped I recall thinking that mass over indulgence in sugar and spinning oneself for a few minutes do not mix. I am pretty sure I was green for the rest of the day.

With snowballs they are so sweet they have the potential to make me feel a bit queezy if I have more than 3 in one evening, and that’s definitely the sugar causing that sensation. It’s definitely not a drink I’d have outside of Christmastime.

My uncle used to make what he called Belgian snowballs which had brandy, grenadine syrup and cherries in them. They were rather fab and a real treat at Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.